Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Summer Infant 3DFlip Convenience Stroller Review and Giveaway

Over the past 13 years since becoming parents, we have used a lot of different strollers. Single, double, umbrella.......you name it and we have probably had one in our garage at some point over the past 13 years. After awhile they all start to look the same. While some stand out with features that others might not have, eventually they all look and feel the same and you forget why they were unique in the first place. That is, until a stroller hits the market that you can't even find words for because you are so incredibly excited and impressed with it. I am thrilled to introduce to our readers for the very first time, the 3DFlip Convenience Stroller by Summer Infant. 

At first glance, the 3DFlip looks like your ordinary basic single, umbrella stroller and that's exactly what I thought when we first took it out of the box. Once we got it out, unfolded and completely assembled, we were stunned. My husband is a gadget man but he is rarely impressed by baby/toddler products so I was surprised when the first thing out of his mouth was "Wow! Where has THIS been all of our lives." My sentiments exactly. 


Impressive Features: 


*Super lightweight aluminum frame making it easy to push and transport 

*Compact Fold saves space

*Carrying strap for easy portability 

*Reversible seat so baby can face you or the world 

*6 reclining positions (3 front facing, 3 rear facing)

*Oversized canopy with convenient window so you can see baby at all times

*Large seat with 5 point safety harness 

I really honestly can't say enough good things about the 3DFlip. As our readers already know, we are getting ready to introduce baby #5 into the world and with older children who play sports, we are constantly on the go. We are so excited to use this stroller with our new addition when she is a little bit bigger. I am really excited that she will be able to face us while she is still really small but that she will be able to face the world once she is a little bit bigger and a little more curious. Our van is always loaded down with gear so the fact that this folds so compactly is perfect because we don't have a lot of spare room. Summer Infant hit one out of the park with this one, we are truly impressed!

GIVEAWAY

One lucky reader is going to win their own 3DFlip Convenience Stroller from Summer Infant!



a Rafflecopter giveaway


*This is not a paid post. All opinions belong to the owner of this site*





Thursday, April 2, 2015

March Ultimate Baby Shower Winners



Congratulations to the following winner's from our March Ultimate Baby Shower Giveaways. Stay tuned for many more giveaways coming up in April! All winner's have been emailed. If you did not receive an email and your name is listed below, please contact us at crazyhousereviews@aol.com So we can obtain your shipping info. 

Island Giggles Deluxe Superseat: Kaitlin B.

Tiny Love Cozy Rocker Napper: Kendra L.

Zutano: David H.

Pop n' Play Ultimate Playard: Mary H. 

Ingenuity Easy Up Travel System: Jed C.

Carter's: Shelly P

Rest Assured Sleeper: Rebecca O.

Soothe n' Sleep Bassinet: Brandy B.

Braun Forehead Thermometer: Stephanie P.

Born Free Bottle Genius Review

Parents today are busier than ever which is why we are always looking out for products that are going to make our lives easier and more convenient. As a mother of 4 (soon to be 5!) I welcome any product that is going to make my life even a little bit easier. Just when I think I have seen it all, a product enters the market that just totally blows my mind and that is exactly how I felt when I was introduced to the new Bottle Genius  from Born Free. I personally breastfed all of my children as babies but only our 4th child was exlusively breastfed. The other three were fed both breastmilk and formula and while I plan to nurse our new addition as well, you just never know what might pop up so I prefer to be prepared as much as possible. With 4 older children, I can see the Bottle Genius being a game changer for sure. 


Reasons Why The Bottle Genius Rocks:

*Super easy to use. Simply turn the dial for 2-10 ounces and push the button. 

*Accurate measurements every time thanks to the SmartScale technology that accurately weighs and measures out both the formula and water. 

*No special bottles or formula to buy because the Bottle Genius works with all major bottle and formula brands.

*Heats on demand or dispenses at room temperature depending on how your baby likes it making it both time and energy efficient.

*Easy to clean with the cleaning cycle that sanitizes the entire system.

*Holds a 2-3 day supply of formula (300 grams)

*BPA Free


The Keurig of baby bottles" is what my husband used to describe the new Bottle Genius. He doesn't get too excited over baby gear like I do but as a tech lover, he was even impressed with the Bottle Genius. As a matter of fact, he is already designing Summer Infant's next genius product for them (in his head anyway) because he said the only thing that would make it better was if it made coffee out of one side for exhausted new parents while making bottles out of the other side for baby. HA! 

"The name of this product truly says it all. It really is GENIUS! If you are having a baby or you are just on the lookout for an amazing shower gift that the recipient will really love and appreciate, this is it. Visit www.summerinfant.com/bottlegenius to learn more and to find out how you can snag one of your own.

GIVEAWAY

One lucky reader is going to win a Born Free Bottle Genius! Just enter via the Rafflecopter form below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway *Products to facilitate this review were provided at no cost via the company and/or representing PR firm. All opinions belong to the owners of this site*

Monday, March 30, 2015

The Dovekeepers on CBS THIS WEEK!

*This post was sponsored by the Role Mommy Writer's Network. All opinions belong to the owners of this site.*


TV audiences are in for a treat this week with the launch of a 4-hour limited event series from producers Roma Downey and Mark Burnett. The Dovekeepers will broadcast Tuesday, March 31 and Wednesday, April 1 on CBS from 9-11p.m. ET. Based off of Alice Hoffman's 2011 bestselling novel, the series will tell the stories of four extraordinary women whose lives interesect in a fight for survival at the Seige of Masada. 

The Dovekeepers is based on true events in Israel in 70 CE and gives the perspective of 4 heroic women who worked together daily as dovekeepers with a common bond for survival after 900 Jews were escorted from their homes in Jerusalem by the Romans.

Keep up with The Dovekeepers on Twitter @TheDoveKeepers and at Facebook.com/TheDoveKeepers. 

Check out the trailer below!


Thursday, March 12, 2015

Island Giggles Deluxe Superseat from Summer Infant

Baby seats are everywhere on the market today. Nearly every brand has some kind of seat for babies but the Island Giggles Deluxe Superseat from Summer Infant takes the prize for the best seat we have seen yet. 


As your baby grows and develops, you will want a safe place for him/her to sit and check out the world and his/her surroundings and this is the perfect product as it offers 3 awesome options. Option 1 is a comfy, padded seat for baby to sit in. Option 2 is a super fun activity seat offering 360° of floortime fun with colorful toys that will keep your baby busy and entertained. The 3rd option is a functional booster seat that includes straps to keep your baby both comfortable and safe. This award winning seat is perfect for at home or on the go and is available in both pink and neutral. If you are working on your baby registry, this is definitely one product you will want on your wish list! 

Visit SummerInfant.Com today and take advantage of some of their great Spring savings!

GIVEAWAY

One lucky reader is going to win an Island Giggles Deluxe Superseat of their own! 



*Products for review and give away were provided at no charge from the company and/or representing PR company. All opinions belong to crazyhousereviews.com*












Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Ingenuity InStride Easy Up Travel System Review

If a new baby is in your near future then chances are, you have been looking for a travel system. A high quality travel system is at the top of our list of necessities when it comes to baby gear especially since we are always on the go with our older children. There are so many brands available on the market today and we were very excited when Ingenuity offered to send us the InStride Easy Up Travel System in the Avondale print to try out. 


Before I go on, let me just tell you. I took pictures over and over again and I could not get a single picture to show these colors justice. The Avondale print is so vibrant and fun and unlike any other print I have ever seen in a travel system. It takes a lot to impress us because we have seen products like this from nearly every brand in the world and we are truly smitten. 



One of the best parts about this system is the assembly. The carseat comes fully assembled and the stroller only took about 7-8 minutes to get the wheels and tray snapped on along with a couple small accessories. This is so important for parents like ME because I fully admit I am NOT good at putting products together that have a lot of small parts. Assembly was a breeze and that is something I can appreciate. 

Notable features of the Instride Easy Up Travel System:

*Unfolds with the lift of a finger 

*Super smooth maneuverability

*Height adjustable handle

*Compartment for smart phone with cord slot 

*Includes the Intrust 35 infant car seat 

*Smart Adjust Headrest on car seat for easy adjustability for your child's size 

*AirInfuse allows air to flow through panels 

*Easily and audibly clicks into both the base and stroller 


If you are in the market for a travel system, this is a must have on your gift registry. You will not be disappointed!

GIVEAWAY 

One lucky reader is going to win their own InStride Easy Up Travel System in Avondale!




*Products for review and giveaway were provided at no cost via the company and/or representing PR firm. All opinions belong to us!*








Summer Infant Rest Assured Sleeper and Tips for Cosleeping

Cosleeping is something that I have always cherished in our family. In those first few exhausting months, it's so nice to keep your baby close. We became pregnant with our 2nd child when our first was just 3 months old so having our son right there with us is what kept me sane. It made for really easy breastfeeding and nighttime diaper changes too and he seemed to sleep much better being right there beside me. We have always kept our babies right in the bed with us and I always felt comfortable with that but I know other parents are fearful of that practice which is why products like the Rest Assured Sleeper from Summer Infant are so great. We were very lucky when Summer Infant sent one to us to try out! 


This is a simple product that every new parent should have. First and foremost it creates a safe and sturdy sleep environment for your baby. The sturdy sides make sure you can't roll over on your baby which is a major concern among new parents who want to cosleep. Another major plus is the mesh, breathable sides. This not only gives you a clear view of your baby at all times but it also helps keep them cool. The clip on device provides soothing sounds, gentle vibrations and even a night light which went above and beyond my expectations. The Rest Assured Sleeper includes a mattress pad and fitted sheet and stores compactly so you can even take it on the go. It comes in either pink or a sweet green so you can enjoy this product with a boy or a girl. 



Hopefully the Summer Infant Rest Assured Sleeper will give you more peace of mind when it comes to cosleeping. Cosleeping can and should be an amazing experience for you as a parent and for your new bundle of joy! We are looking forward to using this awesome product with our new baby girl very soon along with all of the other goodies we have stocked up on from Summer Infant. To see more, visit www.SummerInfant.com and make sure you keep up with them on their social media channels! 

GIVEAWAY

One lucky reader is going to win their own Summer Infant Rest Assured Sleeper! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway *Product for review and giveaway were provided at no cost via the company and/or representing PR company. All opinions are our own* 

Spring and Summer Fashions from Carters

To me, there is nothing more fun than shopping for baby and toddler clothes especially now that we are expecting our first baby girl in nearly 12 years. Through all of our other children, our "go to" brand was always Carters and I am proud to say that many years and 4 children later, this is still the case. 

Sleepers are a major necessity and Carters has definitely helped us out in that department. Below is a very small sampling of the Carters sleepers that we have purchased in the past month or so as we get closer to our new baby's arrival. The colors and designs are so so sweet and you absolutely cannot ask for better quality and value than what Carters offers. Our kids all grew super fast when they were babies so we have bought around 7-8 newborn sized sleepers and now we are focused on stocking up on the 0-3 months.  



While sleepers are a major necessity, we could not resist some of the adorable outfits in Carter's new spring and summer line. All of the little dresses came with bloomers or leggings and I just fell in love with the denim jumper and the elephant outfit. 


Carters doesn't just have adorable baby clothes though, they have you covered all the way up to a size 12 so your child can enjoy high quality fashion all the way through grade school. 

One of my favorite things about Carters is that they are always having a sale. I get their email updates and it seems like as soon as one sale ends, another begins so I am always getting s chance to save. (Hence the 2nd bar we had to hang in the baby's closet!) So if you don't have a store nearby, you can still get their awesome clothes at awesome prices online. Check out Carters.com and start stocking up on their new Spring and Summer arrivals!

GIVEAWAY

2 lucky readers are each going to win a $50 gift card to Carters!

a Rafflecopter giveaway *Gift cards for review and giveaway were provided to us at no cost via the company and/or representing PR firm. All opinions belong to the owners and contributors of crazyhousereviews.com 


Sunday, March 8, 2015

Summer Infant Pop n' Play Ultimate Playard

Parents today seem to be busier and more on the go than ever before. When we had our first three children, we stayed relatively close to home and didn't go out much simply because we had three children under the age of 4 and it was overwhelming to take them out. This time around is going to be much different. We are getting ready to have a newborn along with busy children who are 5, 10, 12 and 13 years old. Up until now I haven't really given it much thought but as we get closer to her arrival, panic is starting to set in. Both of our older boys play a LOT of baseball and soccer and our toddler will soon be joining his first tball league meaning we will be spending countless hours outdoors in the coming months. Thankfully, Summer Infant just came and saved the day for our family. When the Pop n Play Ultimate Playard arrived, I knew it was exactly what we needed.


Whether you spend a lot of time at the park, beach or just hanging in the backyard, this is going at the top of our list of Summer Must Haves this year. 

*Notable Features*

*Simple setup and takedown 

*Convenient Carrying Case

*Suggested retail of just $99

*Lightweight

*Removable sun canopy

*Water resistant flooring (Perfect if you must set up on early morning wet grass)

*Mesh sides so you can see your little one at all times 

*14 square feet of play space 


Our boys have a lot of all day tournaments throughout the year so we are going to get a ton of use out of the Pop n Play Ultimate Playard. I am so excited that we are going to have a safe place for our little one to play and hangout so we might actually get to watch our boys play at the same time. We were very impressed with how easy it is to put up and down and to move around so even if the boys move fields throughout the day, we will be able to move quickly and effortlessly as well.

Visit SummerInfant.com to see all of their awesome products and you can also find them on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Be sure to show them some love on their social media pages as we are so grateful for their generosity in sponsoring so many great giveaways for our readers in this Ultimate Baby Shower event! 

GIVEAWAY

One lucky reader is going to win their own Pop n Play Ultimate Playard.


*The products here for review and giveaway were provided to us at no cost via the company and/or representing PR firm. All opinions are our own.*

Saturday, March 7, 2015

Tiny Love Cozy Rocker Napper Review and Giveaway



Baby gear has come a long way since we had our first baby nearly 13 years ago and I continue to be impressed with the innovative products on todays market. Recently Tiny Love sent us their new Cozy Rocker Napper and we are so excited to share this product with our readers. 



The Cozy Rocker Napper is the perfect product for the first 6 months. The hood helps provide a dark, cozy place for baby to rest. Baby can enjoy the gentle rocking movement of the 3-in-1 Rocker Napper while enjoying soothing music to help lull him/her to sleep. If you have a baby who suffers from colic (we did with our last baby and it was NOT fun!) the gentle vibrating movements can help a babies immature digestive system and easy discomforts. As baby gets older, the hanging electronic toy can be moved to an appropriate distance for reaching and grasping. 

Things We Like:

*3 reclining positions 
*Upright angle is perfect for feeding
*Super cozy napping environment
*Lightweight for easy portability 
*9 Tunes and fun hanging toys to help entertain and stimulate baby 
*Gender neutral that will look great with any room design 

Visit TinyLove.com to view all of their awesome, award winning products! 

GIVEAWAY

One lucky reader is going to win their own Cozy Rocker Napper from Tiny Love!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
*Products for review and giveaway were provided at no cost via the company and/or representing PR firm. All opinions belong to us*

Friday, March 6, 2015

Best Baby Fashions from Zutano


As a mother of four children, I like to think that I am pretty up to date on the latest and greatest kids fashions. I like my children to wear unique and fashionable styles that not every other tot on the playground is wearing and THAT is why I love Zutano. I was first introduced to Zutano around 5 years ago when our youngest son was  born and I became an instant fan. They feature the sweetest mix and match outfits in the funnest, brightest colors and prints that no parent can resist. Since we are getting ready to welcome a new baby girl into our family, we were really excited when Zutano sent us some of their sweet newborn outfits to check out. Of course I instantly fell in love, so much so that I washed them right up and packed them in the diaper bag for our baby girl to wear in the hospital! 


We were sent a variety of goodies that are going to be perfect for our new princess. My favorite was the Friendly Bird print tops with the coordinating hat, pants and booties. They snap on the side which makes them perfect for newborns so the umbilical cord stump can heal and not be bothered. We also received the hot pink multi stripe footie and coordinating swaddle blanket. These outfits are totally swoon worthy and exactly why they are in the hospital bag just waiting for our new arrival to make her debut. We will be sure to update with pictures as soon as she is born! 

From now through March 17, you can use code LuckyYou15 and save 15% off of your entire order. If you order soon you can take advantage or the new Lucky You print for St. Patrick's Day. It so so adorable and comes in styles for both boys and girls. 



GIVEAWAY

One lucky reader is going to win a $75 Gift Card to Zutano.com




a Rafflecopter giveaway *Product for review and giveaway were provided at no cost for the company and/or representing PR firm. All opinions belong to the authors of this site.*

Cold or Flu?! Plus Enter to Win a Braun No Touch + Forehead Thermometer



This has been a cold and flu season that might very well go down in history as one of the worst ever. Nearly everyone we know has been ill at some point and it seems like the influenza strain that has been dominant this year is especially brutal. We have been extremely lucky in that we have not had any of the severe viruses going around but with 4 children and myself being pregnant, I would be lying if I said I wasn't concerned. With every sniffle or cough, I went into panic mode wondering if I should worry. I was very fortunate to have the opportunity to ask some questions to Pediatrician and Mom, Tanya Altmann and she answered them below! 

Why are colds and influenza so common this time of year?
Certain viruses thrive at certain times of year, depending on climate and humidity levels. Most colds and the flu virus thrive and spread during the winter months from October to April and most commonly lately in December-February. The flu virus specifically is more stable in cold, dry air so that’s when it can easily be transmitted.

How do I know if it's just a cold or something more serious?
Patients often come into the office saying they have the flu when really they just have a cold. The symptoms between a cold and flu are different and it’s important to recognize them so you can treat your illness effectively. The flu is much more severe than a cold and it tends to come on more quickly.  Cold symptoms are sore throat, runny nose, congestion, sneezing and coughing, while the flu usually produces high fever, chills, headaches, body aches and severe fatigue. If you think you or your child has the flu, call your pediatrician.

What are some of the early symptoms of cold and/or flu?
During cold & flu season, we receive lots of calls from parents who are trying to decide if their child has come down with an illness.  My first question is always how is their child acting?  Behavior is often the best indicator of whether a child needs to be seen right away.  Fever is also often one of the first signs of the flu and is also when the child is most contagious. That’s why it’s important to have a reliable thermometer at home, like the Braun No Touch + forehead thermometer.  

What are signs of complications parents need to watch out for?
If your child has a cold or the flu, seems to be improving and then worsens (i.e., fever comes back, cough gets worse), see your pediatrician as this is a sign of a secondary infection such as a pneumonia.  Other signs and symptoms to call you pediatrician for are trouble breathing, fever lasting more than 4 days, any fever in a newborn, not keeping fluids down, lethargy, looking really sick.

What's the best way to prevent cold and flu?
I swear by some tried and true methods of prevention during cold & flu season. One that tops the list is washing hands. Parents should have their kids wash their hands every time they enter or leave the house and before any meal. Germs are everywhere and children will touch anything. Secondly, make sure everyone is getting enough sleep and eating healthy to help keep their immune system strong.

Who is most at risk?
Children under 2 years of age, adults age 65 and older and pregnant women are most at risk for developing complications from the flu. They should be extra cautious and speak to their doctor if they begin to show signs of the flu virus.   

When in the year are flu shots recommended?
Flu vaccines are recommended yearly for everyone 6 months of age and older.  As soon as the flu vaccine is available in late August or September you can get the flu vaccine for that upcoming season.  In my office I typically recommend flu vaccine in September and October.  I tell the kids that they should have their flu vaccine before they go trick or treating for Halloween to ensure that everyone gets it as soon as possible.

What are some ways parents can keep their children comfortable if they do come down with something?
When your sick child is relaxing on the couch or asleep in their bed, keep their head propped up to help them breathe easier. You can put extra pillows behind their head or fold a couple of towels to help elevate them. If your child is more comfortable, they’ll get the quality rest they need to recover.

If a fever or pain is making them uncomfortable, offer an appropriate dose of acetaminophen.  Not every fever needs to be treated, but often treating the fever will help your child feel more comfortable.
Make sure they drink plenty of warm fluids and run a cool mist humidifier or vaporizer at night to help thin mucus and clear nasal congestion.



The Braun No Touch + Forehead Thermometer is the perfect accessory to get you through the rest of cold and flu season. It offers two simple ways to get an accurate reading without the hassle of even waking your child up. You can hold the thermometer up to 2 inches away from the forehead or gently touch the forehead in the same location. In less than 2 seconds you have an accurate reading! This could not have come at a better time for our family as we had a couple bugs come through shortly after its arrival and it was a great product to have. When our 9 year old had the stomach bug, I was able to quickly take his temperature even while he slept. Not sure how we did without something like this for so long but we are super stoked we have it now! 

GIVEAWAY

One lucky reader is going to win their own Braun No Touch + Forehead Thermometer! 




*Product and information were provided to us at no cost via the company and/or representing PR firm. All opinions are our own* 



Thursday, March 5, 2015

Baby Must Have's this Spring from Kohl's

We have been in baby mode for quite some time around here and with less than 6 weeks to go before our new arrival makes her grand entrance into the world, we have been on the lookout for those last minute essentials that we are going to need to get us through the first few months. Luckily, we didn't have to look very far because our local Kohl's had everything we needed to finish off our list!

 
From great fashion to all the gear, Kohl's has you covered. If you are preparing for a baby of your own or you need to go shopping for a baby shower, you will not be disappointed in the selection at Kohl's. If you can't find what you are looking for in your local store, you even have the option to shop straight from your couch which is a big plus for expecting Mom's like me who are finding it difficult to get around too much these days. 

I am always impressed with the baby and kids clothing that we find at Kohl's and this shopping trip was no different. They have all of my favorite baby brands in the latest styles and I can never leave empty handed. This trip I was excited to find a great deal on mix and match Jumping Beans outfits and sleepers and outfits from Carter's and even Nike for the upcoming baseball season. 


Also on our list was other essentials like blankets, receiving blankets and bibs and I was thrilled with what we found at Kohl's. The minky blankets are probably the softest blankets I have ever felt and I cannot wait to snuggle our new baby girl up in them. The receiving blankets from Just Born came with an attached gift tag and ribbon which makes them the perfect baby shower gift because every new parent needs plenty of receiving blankets and the bibs were just what we were looking for. I was also surprised to find the new Cozy Rocker Napper from Tiny Love at Kohl's! This is a new product to the baby market this year and is not available at many retail stores but it's available at Kohl's.Com! 

So not only does Kohl's have you covered for the small things but they have all of the latest and greatest gear as well. You can't ask for a better one-stop-shop for all of your needs!

Visit your local Kohl's or shop online today at Kohls.Com! Whatever you are looking for, you are sure to find it! 

*Thanks to Kohl's for sponsoring the shopping trip for this post. All opinions are our own*

Summer Infant Soothe & Sleep Bassinet Review and Giveaway

Having a new baby is both an exciting and overwhelming time as you scramble to make sure you have all of the needed essentials. When we were making our list of must have's this time around, a bassinet was at the top of our list. I am the kind of Mom who likes to keep her baby close but I am also hesitant to spend a ton of money since a bassinet is really only useful for a few months. This is why the Soothe n' Sleep Bassinet from Summer Infant was the perfect choice for us. Summer Infant sent us this product in the Lila print to try out and I could not have been more thrilled with it when it arrived.


Things We Like:

*Easy assembly 
*Wheels for easy portability from room to room
*Peaceful lullabies and calming sounds along with gentle vibration to help baby sleep 
*Beautiful design 
*Affordable at just $99.99 suggested retail 
*Adjustable canopy 
*Large storage basket to keep essentials stashed away but easily accessible 

Keeping your baby close to you is so important in those first few exhausting months and this is the perfect product to keep baby close but still in his/her own space. When it's time for middle of the night feedings and diaper changes, your baby will be close and accessible so you can quickly attend to his/her needs.

This is definitely a must have on every baby registry. We are truly in love with it. If you are looking for a color other than pink, I would suggest the Soothe & Sleep Bassinet with Motion or the Bentwood or Classic Comfort styles. All offer great features at prices that are not going to break the bank that your new baby is sure to love!! 

GIVEAWAY

One lucky reader is going to win their own Soothe & Sleep Bassinet!



*Review and Giveaway were provided by the company at no cost. All opinions are our own. Contest is open to US residents only. 


Tuesday, February 10, 2015

DOLE Red Grapefruit Sunrise Fruit Bowls #GrapefruitBowl

*This post has been sponsored by DOLE through the Mom It Forward Blogger Network. All opinions are our own* 

Here in our house, we are borderline obsessed with grapefruit. We eat fresh grapefruit with our meals and as a healthy snack throughout the day but when we are on the go or short on time, eating a grapefruit poses a challenge! While they are super yummy, the juices make them messy and cutting and eating them is time consuming. Thanks to DOLE, we can now enjoy grapefruit any time of day and even on the go with their Red Grapefruit Sunrise Fruit Bowls! In the mornings when I am in a hurry, this is now my go-to breakfast along with my favorite protein bar. I can also stick them in my husbands lunchbox for work so he can enjoy them away from home as a quick and convenient snack.



February is actually National Grapefruit Month so we have been getting our fill while they are in season but it's good to know we can find the DOLE Red Grapefruit Sunrise Bowls year round!  I don't normally buy fruit cups because they are generally filled with syrups and sweeteners but the new grapefruit bowls are 100% natural fruit and juice making them an even better choice. Each cup is filled with a peak-of-ripeness, peeled grapefruit and sealed in natural juices for a truly perfect snack. They are also naturally gluten free, GMO free, free of artificial sweeteners AND the cups are BPA free!  Find them in the canned fruit aisle at most grocery stores! For more info, go to http://dole.com/products/fruit-bowls/grapefruit 


Sunday, February 8, 2015

Give a Gift, Get a Gift #playswell #swellsanta

love finding and sharing new products and I get to do that a lot through my blog and social media but there is a fresh new site in town that is taking sharing cool products to a whole new level. If you remember back in December, we shared the SwellSanta campaign by Playswell. 

Basically, we went to playswell.com and shared an awesome product and then we actually purchased the product for someone else to receive. In return, they sent me a similar product in the same price range that someone else had submitted. 

I suggested my favorite Flip headphones because they have really helped me and my daughter connect. She is a tween and these days, music is one of the few things we have in common and with the Flip headphones we can rock out together! After I submitted the product, I sat patiently waiting to see what product I would get in return and I was so happy when the Deck showed up from Sol Republic! 



They had no idea what HUGE fans we are of Sol Republic so we thought it was really awesome that they sent this Bluetooth speaker so my daughter and I can continue bonding through music. 

Check it out at www.playswell.com and let me know what you think!!! The idea right now is to fill the site with brag worthy products for others to love and appreciate too! 

Saturday, February 7, 2015

Cute Valentines Day Fashion from Zutano



With 4 children and a baby on the way, we are slightly obsessed with over the top cute fashion for little ones. One of our favorite brands is and has always been Zutano and we are really smitten over their current line, especially the adorable selections that are perfect for Valentines Day. Check out their full line at www.zutano.com and don't forget between February 13-17, you can save 14% off your order with code LOVE2015! 




Tuesday, January 27, 2015

2015 Design Trends For Building Your New Home

Like most things in life, house design goes through phases, with fads and looks that come and go. Just consider the chocolate brick fascination of the early 1980s, the weatherboard fixation of the ‘50s, or the brutal concrete of the ‘70s. Well, the good news is 2015 is a little more forward-thinking, with a focus on smart design that will endure well into the future while also being eco-friendly. Here are some design trends likely to be seen in the coming year. 
 
Smaller Houses, Smarter Design

Land availability is in a current state of flux with new areas opening up and being bought out rapidly. However, the general expansion of cities has resulted in homes typically taking up less space. For those looking to build, that means focusing on smaller houses with smarter design. Features to look out for include clever storage and study nooks that intelligently utilise space. It's worth visiting the display homes of leading home builders, such as Coral Homes, to see some examples of how contemporary home designs are doing more with less. 
 
Environmentally Friendly

No longer is environmentally friendly design solely for the rich and architects. It's now mainstream to ensure your property is energy-efficient and includes environmentally friendly features. More and more, designs are incorporating water tanks, solar panels, and insulation as we seek to harness the power of nature to make living easier on our environment and on our wallets. 
 
Multigenerational Living

Now, more than ever, home design is looking to the future during construction and this includes a focus on family needs. It is predicted that, in the next 10-20 years, more of us will be living in multi-generational homes that include older kids and ageing parents. Design is focused on ensuring these multi-generational needs are met with suitable living spaces and subtly separated sleeping zones. 
 
Open Plan

Open plan is set to stay in a nod to our busy lifestyles, where socialising, leisure, entertaining and outdoor living blend seamlessly in a functional and uncluttered space. That means dining rooms will continue to flow into lounge areas and kitchens in a combined space where most of the day-to-day interactions of family life will unfold. 
 
Kitchen at the Heart of the Home


As in previous years, the kitchen will be at the heart of the open plan home, remaining the site that the house revolves around. In design terms, this means the kitchen will overlook key living areas, while sleeping areas for home occupants may be separated by this central point. Functionally, this will provide the perfect space for entertaining and overseeing family life. This is also a nod to the importance being placed on food preparation in the modern world, with an increasing focus on where food comes from and how it is made.
Like anything, home design is subject to trends that emerge and fade, but the secret to good design is ensuring the needs of the future are considered. This will keep your home current and comfortable in the years beyond 2015.

Monday, January 26, 2015

What Is Your Germ Alter Ego?!

I am not going to lie, I have been a hot mess this winter. As soon as cold and flu season hit back in November, I turned into a crazy germaphobe. With 4 children plus myself being pregnant, we fall into the high risk category for complications from influenza so I was taking no chances this year. Lysol has been a staple in our house for many years but especially this year as we do our best to avoid all of the bugs going around. 

I was recently sent some Lysol products and a funny graphic showing all of the different Germ Alter Egos that Moms have and after careful consideration, I believe we could be a little bit of all 4 but mostly the Avoidenator. I do my best to limit our visits to public places mostly after a quick trip to the grocery left me disgusted at one of the employees who was sick and running a checkout! 


I appreciate the products that I received from Lysol and they will definitely help us get through the rest of flu season. I am most excited about the Lysol Disinfectant Spray To Go that I can carry in my purse and use on things like cart handles and in the bathroom while I am out and about. I already use the Lysol wipes on most surfaces in our home, especially door handles and areas that get touched a lot. We have also encouraged our kids to wash their hands more often. They take small hand sanitizers to school to use throughout the day and wash their hands a lot more at home. Take a look above and see which Germ Alter Ego you have and see what the solution is! 



*Thanks to Lysol for sending us samples and the info for this post. All opinions are our own* 

Saturday, January 24, 2015

New Spring/Summer Fashions from Florsheim Kids

I love it when a new season is around the corner because new styles come out from some of our favorite brands. This month we got a sneak peak at some of the new styles that are now available at Florsheim Kids and they even sent us a couple pair of our favorite styles to review.

I let our two younger boys browse the website themselves so they could pick out shoes that they really liked and I think they did a fantastic job with their choices. 



Our 4 year old chose the Flipside Slip Junior in orange and they are definitely Mom approved. First of all, the color is perfect for Spring/Summer. The orange is such a bright and fun color and if that's not your color, choose from one of the other fun colors this style is available in! These shoes are a great pick because they are slip on (score!) and they are totally versatile. Whether you are riding bikes, playing at the park or heading to the beach, the breathable terry cloth lining makes them a perfect fit for both style and comfort! For just $45, you can't go wrong with this shoe. 

Our 9 year old chose the Cove Mesh Jr in navy and these were also a huge hit. This style is also available in 5 different colors so you can find a color that fits your child's style and personality. Don't worry about getting these shoes wet this summer either because they feature a combo of mesh and waxy canvas making them cool and breathable through even the hottest months of Summer. 

Check out www.florsheim.com/kids to see all of the fun new styles this upcoming season!

Giveaway: One lucky reader is going to win a $60 gift card to Florsheim! Please enter via the form below. Thanks to Florsheim for providing the products for review and giveaway to help facilitate this post. 


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, January 18, 2015

Homegating for the Big Game with Gourmet Grillware

It's almost time for the Super Bowl and if you are football lovers like we are, you are probably busy making plans for how you will watch the big game. With 4 kids, we rarely actually go to any Super Bowl parties....instead, we opt to stay home and homegate! The kids and I have a ball creating a yummy menu with lots of fun snacks and then we spend the entire day in preparation of game time! This year we have a fun new way to cook up good food thanks to Gourmet Griller who sent us their awesome Gourmet Football Griller to try out! 

This is one seriously awesome piece to have in the kitchen and a must have for football fans! 

*Cook and serve on the same platter 

*Can be used on the grill, stovetop or in the oven 

*Keeps your cold food colder and your hot food hotter for longer periods of time 

*Lifetime warranty-very durable, easy to clean 

We wanted to put the football griller to the test so we made some of our favorite gameday fajitas for the playoffs this weekend. It was awesome that we were able to cook and serve on the same pan, making it a breeze to cleanup!  Check out the recipe below!



Gameday Fajitas 

Start by slicing 4-5 boneless skinless chicken breasts into strips and small pieces 

After cutting up the chicken, marinate for a minimum of one hour in a mix of 2 tbsp lime juice, 2 tbsp olive oil, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 minced jalapeño and one minced garlic clove.

After marinating, cook on the stovetop (hopefully in your awesome new Football Griller) with a small drizzle of olive oil until chicken is cooked through. Sauté in sliced bell peppers and onions for extra yummy flavor!

Cooking with the Football Griller was so easy and our chicken came out amazing! The best part was that I was able to carry the Griller to the table without switching it over to another dish. It was super easy to wash clean too which is a huge plus for me! 

Want to try out one of these bad boys yourself?? Win 1 of 5 via the entry form below! 


Wednesday, January 14, 2015

How to Prep Cloth Diapers for Use

If you are new to the cloth diapering world, you might be feeling overwhelmed at all of the choices and instructions but don't fear! We are here to help you get started. Our lesson today is going to be in prepping cloth diapers for use for the first time. When you open those packages of fluffy awesomeness you might be tempted to use them right away---BAD IDEA! Until your cloth diapers are properly washed, they will not be absorbent and will leave you with a big mess on your hands so patience will be key when you first get started! Not to mention, your diapers might also have excess oils or dirt residue from the manufacturing process so washing them at least a couple of times before use is better than nothing. 

*Do not wash synthetic materials together with natural fibers. Bamboo, cotton and hemp have natural oils that can build up on your synthetic material diapers and cause repelling meaning your diapers won't absorb. This is never good!

*Use a very small amount of cloth diaper detergent. I'm prepping new diapers right now as I type this and I am using BumGenius Cloth Diaper detergent. I use only a teaspoon when prepping and I don't use it every load. I will wash these diapers 6-8 times and will use detergent maybe just 2 of the times.

*If your washer has an option for an extra rinse cycle, take advantage of that! I always do an extra rinse with my cloth diapers whether I am prepping them or they are dirty. Always use the extra rinse cycle!

*There is no way of knowing if your diapers are fully prepped so I suggest washing 6-8 times before you use them, especially before using them at night time or during nap time!

*Its up to you if you dry between washings when prepping cloth diapers. I don't dry them. I just keep repeating the wash cycle and dry after the last wash is complete. 



If you have any questions feel free to post them in the comments below. While it does take a little effort to get your diapers ready to use, it's so worth it in the end!!! 

Saturday, December 20, 2014

Find the Latest and Greatest in Photography Gear at Best Buy #CamerasAtBestBuy

Tis the season for holiday parties and get together's which means making photo memories that can be preserved for generation after generation. For me it's not just about capturing those amazing moments but it's also about the ability to share them with friends and loved one's. If you have been on the lookout for a new camera or camcorder, look no further than Best Buy! We have outlined 3 of the newest camera's on the market below and all 3 are available at Best Buy! 




*DSLR with built in Wi-Fi for instant sharing

*Comes with an AF-S DX NICCOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR II lens for sharper images and video footage. Optical image stabilization helps prevent blurring for the clearest image possible.

*Available in black, red or gray 




*Digital camera allows you to shoot, share and use Android Apps

*16.3 megapixel, 1/2.3" BSI CMOS sensor allows you to capture sharper images and hi def video footage. With a 4.8" touch screen and built in Wi-Fi, operation is simple and sharing files is a breeze. 




*Compact System with world's fastest autofocus 

*Sony Alpha A6000 features a 24.3 mexapixel, Exmor APS-C CMOS sensor that makes it easy to shoot scenes with clarity.

*Built in Wi-Fi allows you to easily share content across devices

*Available in black, white or silver

For Best Buys full line of camcorders and cameras, visit the Best Buy Holiday Gift Center

*The reviewer has been compensated in the form of a Best Buy Gift Card and/or received the product/service at a reduced price or for free*