Wednesday, December 7, 2016

Vive Health Launches First Product Offering on Walmart.Com

Vive Health, your one-stop shop for healthcare needs, has officially launched its first product on Walmart.com! The Finger Pulse Oximeter is available on the site for $22.95 and includes FREE shipping! 

The pulse oximeter from Vive Health is lightweight, portable and measures both pulse rate and SpO2 levels.  All you have to do is place your finger inside the device and the results are displayed on the LCD screen within seconds. It also features a battery-saving automatic power off function and an irregular heartbeat alarm notification. Each unit comes with a 2 year warranty and guaranteed accurate as each unit is tested individually. 

If you are in the market for this handy monitor, be sure to visit Walmart.com! This is truly one of the best SpO2 monitors on the market. For all of your other needs, makes sure you visit www.ViveHealth.com where all products ship FREE. 


Monday, December 5, 2016

Three Things to Consider When Choosing an Area Rug

Choosing the right area rug can instantly refresh the décor of practically any room in a home. But, before choosing one, it’s a good idea think about the features of the room where it will go. If you do this, you’re likely to select a rug that you’re extremely happy with. Here are three considerations when choosing an area rug.

The Color of the Room’s Walls

Ideally, you want to choose an area rug that complements the other colors in the room. For instance, if the walls of the room are painted in pastel blue, you may want get an area rug in another shade of blue. A navy or royal blue rug would enhance the look of your walls and vice-versa. Choosing a rug in a color that complements or coordinates with the color of your room’s walls can bring visual harmony to the space.

The Room’s Furniture

When choosing an area rug, you should consider the color and pattern of the furniture in the room. For instance, if you have a sofa and chairs in a solid color, you may want to go with an area rug that features an intricate pattern. Consequently, you’ll have a rug that helps liven up the décor. To add extra style to the picture, you could choose a rug with a pattern featuring colors that echo other colors throughout the room. This careful choice will contribute to the balanced feel of the décor.

The Size of the Room

Certainly, the size of the room is an important consideration when choosing an area rug. In short, you want to select a rug that suits the dimensions of the room. Having an area rug that is too small or too big takes away from the appeal of the rest of the room’s décor. Fortunately, for those who want to buy area rugs online, there are plenty of options when it comes to size and shape. You may want to choose one in a shape that echoes a coffee table, chairs or other furnishings in the room. 

So, giving some thought to the look and feel of a room before adding a rug can help you end up with the perfect choice! An area rug may be a simple addition to a room, but it can contribute a lot of color and style to the space.

How Often Should I have Termite Inspections Performed?

Staying on top of any potential termite problems is a vital key in preventing any infestation damage later on. This is definitely a pest issue that you need to watch out for with regular inspections rather than waiting until you start to see signs of the insects or even actual damage. 

Professionals, like exterminators in Arlington Heights or elsewhere will do inspections to help keep your home safe. But while you need to be on your guard, you don't want to go overboard either. 

So the big question is how often do you need to have a termite inspection, to be on the safe side with your home. On average, the simple and rough answer is once a year. Having an annual termite inspection is the most common preventative approach. But you do need to consider a few other points. 

Regional Location 

Where in the country are you located? Some regions are far more prone to termite infestations than others, and some areas don't even have native termites to begin with.

 If you live in an area that is prone to termites, you might want to consider upping your inspection schedule to every six months. Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, South Carolina, Louisiana and the eastern part of Texas are all areas with high termite populations. 

Just remember that these are only the high-risk areas. There are termites in every state except Alaska, which would be the only area where you can skip the inspections entirely without any worry. Northern states like Minnesota, Maine or North Dakota are also very safe with regards to termites. You might want to go with every 2 years in those areas, but you will want to consider your specific property, which we will be discussing next.

Type of Property 



This is really another way of looking at location, just more locally. Is your home in a rural or wooded area, or in a built-up urban area? Living in an inner city area that is surrounded to asphalt and concrete is going to bring your termite risks down considerably, even if you live in one of the states we mentioned earlier. 

On the other hand, a property with a lot of close trees will increase your termite risk quite a bit, no matter where your home is. Homes that are surrounded by forest would do well with a 6-month inspection schedule. You should also think about adding some bait stations to your yard to protect your home against the local termite colonies, but that's another story altogether. 

The bottom line is that an annual inspection is a good place to start, unless you fit in with the higher-risk situations or areas we have mentioned above. Then go with every 6 months. Of course, you can always discuss this with a local professional to get their opinions too. They'll know the area better and can fine-tune their advice for your home specifically. 

A professional can also give you some further information on what to do if termites are discovered, and how treatment would handle it. It's always good to know the big picture for the future.

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Baby Magic Celebrating 65 Years

*This is a sponsored post, written by us on behalf of Baby Magic. All opinions belong to the owner's of this site* 



With 5 children, there have been a lot of brands in our home that I would consider "staples" and at the top of the list in our house over the past 14 years has been Baby Magic. With all 5 kids, it was our #1 brand of bath products and still remains our favorite today with Miss Addy Grace.


There is seriously nothing better than a fresh bathed baby and we are excited to help Baby Magic celebrate their 65th anniversary this year! Born in 1951, Baby Magic products are hypoallergenic, tear-free and paraben-free. Almost 65 years ago, they launched the "For Every Lady in Waiting" campaign featuring expectant mothers in designer maternity wear and today they are revisiting that campaign. View some of their recreations by visiting Dad's in the Making.




Make sure you visit the Baby Magic Facebook page and follow them on Instagram @ OriginalBabyMagic

GIVEAWAY

One lucky reader is going to win a prize package including Baby Magic products and a $25 Visa Gift Card!



*Info, products and gift cards were provided to us by the company and/or representing PR firm* 


Issues to Consider When Looking for a New Home


There is a great deal of pressure involved with finding a place to live. Hunting for a house is not something you should do without completely considering all of the various issues that will be crucial during your search. Failure to do this will most likely make your search take much longer. There is also the possibility that you will be unsuccessful in finding the specific type of home you are looking for. Here are some examples of issues that you need to keep in mind and take into consideration before you sign on the dotted line.



1. How old is the house you are looking at?

You know that older cars come with the increased risk of mechanical problems because of all the miles they have been driven. Therefore, a car that is cheap to buy might cost you a lot in repairs in the future. The same idea applies to buying a very old home. There are now many laws and building codes that dictate the materials used to build homes. These building codes did not exist many years ago. This is why old homes typically have problems that are never encountered in homes built within the past 30 years. For example, asbestos and lead paint were both commonly used in a wide variety of homes many years ago. However, it was later determined that these materials were harmful to people. You need to think twice before you buy a home that is old. The problems that will come with it might not be worth the headaches they will create.

2. Should you buy or lease your home?

Your decision to buy or lease your home will depend on where you are at in your life financially. It will also have a lot to do with your plans for the future. Obviously buying a home will require considerably more capital up front. You may not have access to this amount of money. There is also the possibility that you do not have good enough credit to be approved for a mortgage. Leasing your home is another option. A lease does not require a big financial commitment at the beginning. Also, lease agreements do not require the same credit scores that banks demand for mortgages. Leasing a home is a good idea if you will only be living in a city for a year or two because of a job. You will not need to worry about selling your home when your job is completed. Invitation Homes has leased homes to many people. Invitation also has a solid reputation for professionalism.

3. How big will the yard of your home need to be?

The size of the house itself should not be your only consideration. Do you have a dog or children who like to play outside? If this is the case, the size of the yard definitely needs to be a factor in your decision-making process. This is especially true if your children are young enough where you still need to keep an eye on them. Keeping a dog in a yard that is too small will not be good for its overall health. You also might want to invite friends to your home for parties. Having a bigger yard would make these gatherings more comfortable.

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Timeless on NBC

If you could go back to any period of time, which would it be? Now you can travel back in time with the cast of the new Monday night series on NBC, Timeless. Timeless airs at 10:00p.m. EST. 



Timeless is a thrilling action-adventure series in which a criminal steals a time machine to go back and time and change America as we know it. An unexpected team of a scientist, soldier and history professor must use the machine's prototype to travel back to critical events in our history while making sure not to affect the past themselves. 

The cast of Timeless includes Abigail Spencer, Matt Lanter, Malcolm Barrett, Goran Visnjic, Paterson Joseph, Sakina Jaffrey and Claudia Doumit. 

Executive Producers and writers of the show are Eric Kripke and Shawn Ryan along with executive producers John Davis, John Fox, Marney Hochman and Director Neil Marshall. 

I had the chance to sit in on an interview with star and heroine of the show, Abigail Spencer who plays Lucy Preston. Spencer is a talented name in the business, just wrapping up the 4th and final season of Rectify. She shared with us some of her favorite parts of being on the show, including all of the awesome wardrobe changes from the different time periods in our history, her favorite being the 40's. It's always refreshing to speak to strong women who are successful in both their professional fields as well as motherhood. She talked to us about how she balances life as an actress while being able to give as much time and attention to her son as possible which is a struggle with all moms, no matter what your career. It was great getting to hear her perspectives on parenting as well as following her dreams as an actress. She also reminded us that Timeless is not only entertaining but it's educational as well. We homeschool our oldest 2 boys so we allowed them to stay up Monday night to catch the Timeless episode on Abe Lincoln and they loved it! They have already set the DVR for next Monday so we can catch the next episode. 

If you are looking for a great new series that will keep you on the edge of your seat, catch Timeless next Monday at 10pm on NBC!

*This post was sponsored by the Role Mommy's Writer's Network. All opinions belong to the owner's of this site*






Friday, October 7, 2016

Dr. Ken, Friday Nights on ABC

Fall has arrived which means so has some much anticipated Fall television shows including Season 2 of Dr. Ken! Make sure you tune in tonight at 8:30 EST! 



In the new episode which will air Friday, October 7, Jeong's real-life daughter Zooey will guest star as the window-peeping neighbor girl. This hilarious real-life comedy is the perfect ending to wind down the busy work/school week with the family. It's so difficult to find family friendly shows anymore and this is one that our entire family can sit down and enjoy together. 

I had the opportunity to be on an interview call with Ken Jeong this week and he is such an amazing, down to earth man which makes me even more excited to catch the show. It's not very often that you can find someone who is just naturally funny like he is and I was just thrilled to have the chance to talk to him. It was truly like talking to a neighbor or a friend. I was really curious as to how he went from studying medicine to becoming a crazy successful actor and I loved hearing the story about how he caught the "acting bug" while studying medicine. His parents encouraged him to follow his dreams and left his career decisions ultimately up to him and while I am certain he would have been successful no matter which path he would have taken, I am so glad he ultimately chose acting because we need more Ken Jeong's in the entertainment world! He has provided my husband and I with countless laughs on his many successful movies including the Hangover Series. Unlike the Hangover movies, however, Dr. Ken is a more real-life show that people can relate to. (And your children can watch without you having to cover their eyes or ears!) Not only is Jeong the star of the show, he is also executive producer so he has a hand in every single part of the show so you know it's going to be great! 

We have our DVR set and can't wait to catch the show tonight! 


*This post was sponsored by the Role Mommy Writer's Network. All opinions belong to the owner's of this site* 

Monday, October 3, 2016

October 3, Stomp Out Bullying #WorldDayOfBullyingPrevention

Bullying is something that effects everyone. You, me, our children and our society as a whole is directly affected by bullying and how we treat each other. There are two things that I consider the most important in teaching my children how to be strong, healthy adults. One is for the to have a relationship with God and the other is to be kind to everyone they meet. 


I can still remember how much I hated school when I was a teenager. I hit puberty in middle school between my 7th and 8th grade years and I went back to school very self conscious. I was called "fat" when I really wasn't overweight at all, I just had a bigger chest that made me appear bigger than I was. Looking back now, I can still feel the hurtful words that were said to me by numerous boys. I remember starting very unhealthy eating habits where I would regularly skip meals or I would eat and then make myself throw up. I hated the girl looking back at me in the mirror and would often sit in my room and cry because I was so embarrassed about my body. I can remember the saying "Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me." That was drilled into our heads starting in elementary school, but no bigger lie has ever been told. Words do hurt. They hurt bad. They cut deep. Bruises heal and you will probably even forget how you got them but cruel words echo over and over in your mind and are rarely forgotten. Looking back today, I can still feel the pain that I felt as a young girl and it is what drives me today to make a difference. We have 5 children of our own and the biggest message that we preach in our home is to BE KIND! We volunteer for several charities and we pay it forward every chance we get but what we have taught our kids number one above all is to be kind. It's free to be kind. A smile or a kind word can make all of the difference in someone else's life and it doesn't cost a dime! 



Parents, please take a minute today and talk to your kids about bullying. Be involved in their lives and watch for signs that things might not be all that great. YOU are your child's biggest advocate. If something is happening, please don't turn a blind eye. Your kids are counting on you! I encourage you to visit the Parents Page on the Stomp Out Bullying website and see what you can do to help be a part of the solution! We can't afford to lose another child. Kind = Awesome.


This is a sponsored post written on behalf to the Role Mommy Writer's Network. All opinions belong to the owner's of this site* 


Tuesday, September 27, 2016

New ABC Fall Series, Notorious on Thursday Nights



Fall is positively my favorite time of year for so many reasons and at the top of my list is the awesome new Fall series on TV! I am not a big fan of watching television but when the weather starts to change, there is nothing better than curling up on the couch for an hour and watching some amazing TV. At the top of my list this Fall is the all new series on ABC, Notorious! Airing on Thursday evenings at 9/8c after Grey's Anatomy, Notorious duo Jake (a high powered lawyer) and Julia (a top rated investigative news producer) will have you at the edge of your seat as they mix law and media in an interplay of scandal and drama.

Watch the trailer below!




Piper Perabo and Daniel Sunjata did not disappoint in last week's premier and we are so excited for this week's episode! Pop some popcorn and join the fun this Thursday night! Make sure you follow @ABCNotorious on Twitter so you can keep up with the cast.


*This post was sponsored by the Role Mommy Writer's Network. All opinions belong to the owner's of this site*



Friday, September 2, 2016

Vive Health Medical Supply Store

Since I have been actively trying to lose weight and get back into shape over the past few months, I can tell you that my body is not the same body that it was when I was 18. I am not old by any means (unless you ask my teenage daughter, and in that case, at 34 I am pretty much ancient) but I can definitely tell that my body is not able to do some of the things that it used to. I have seen several injuries over the past several months from minor aches and pains to a major back episode that involved an ambulance taking me to the ER late one night so I am slowly learning that I need to ease into some of these things and that my body is no longer the body that it was at 18 before I had 5 children. If you are in the same boat, let me introduce you to Vive Health! 

Vive Health is a medical supply store that can help you keep your body and health on track. They offer a variety of products from monitors to mobility aids. 

Back issues? Vive's Back Brace can help you with all of your back support needs. This brace includes reinforced support, a removable lumbar pad and adjustable straps to prevent constant readjusting. This brace is great to help someone recovering from a back injury and to help prevent a new injury. 



Do you suffer from annoying foot issues like plantar fasciitis or hammer toe? Vive Health carries inexpensive toe separators that can help! Made of high grade silicone and backed by a 60-day warranty, these toe separators can help get your feet healthy again. 


In today's world of computers, many people suffer from conditions with the arms, hands and wrist. Do you have carpal tunnel, tendonitis or sports injury? A Wrist Brace might be just what the doctor ordered. 


Whatever your health needs, Vive Health has you covered. Check them out today and be on your way to a better you! Right now you can use code GET20 to receive 20% off of your first order at ViveHealth.com


*This post was sponsored by Vive Health or their representing PR firm. All opinions belong to the owner of this site* 










Thursday, August 25, 2016

Flash Sale: AtmosFlare 3D Drawing Pen

I can't believe that we are already thinking about the holidays but you and I both know that they will be here before we know it. I actually started ordering Christmas gifts last week just because with 5 kids, I try to start early. One of the things my oldest son has been eyeing for awhile now is a 3D pen and since he is really up to date on all of the cool stuff that older kids want today, chances are, your older children (or even you!) might have your eye on something like this to. You are in luck. This week only, Amazon Echo and the AtmosFlare 3D drawing pen are running a special promotion that you cannot miss out on. Until this Friday, August 26th, you can purchase the drawing set for just $19.99! If you don't have Amazon Echo, you will receive 2 free 3 pack refill packs with proof of purchase. 




  • The AtmosFlare 3D pen uses a cool blue LED light and special ink that enables you to easily draw 3D objects! Drawing vertically is as easy as squeezing your pen and moving the tip vertically, away from your drawing surface with the LED light ON.
  • Make solid sheets of material by drawing on flat or curved surfaces, first with the light off, and curing afterward by shining the light on your art. Draw on non-sticky textured materials or objects like coins or buttons, and then remove for very cool effects. Use your imagination!
  • Thin lines and shapes can be made thicker by drawing over the top of your finished work. When filling in a large area, apply a thin layer of ink and allow it to settle. After it's settled, cure it with the light!
  • The AtmosFlare 3D pen is easy to clean from your hands and work area with baby wipes, hand sanitizer and every day soaps and cleaners.
  • Tips and "how to" videos are found on our website and ink refills are available in 12 beautiful colors.

Hurry over to Amazon today because you do NOT want to miss out on this deal! 


Be on a lookout for the AtmosFlare 3D in our holiday gift guide that will kick off on November 1st! 







Thursday, August 18, 2016

Is a Spring Mattress or Foam Mattress better for your back??

If you are looking for a new mattress for your bed you will come across two main types; spring mattresses and foam mattresses. Spring mattresses have traditionally been used for years and they usually tend to be the cheaper option; but are they the best option? If you are someone who suffers from problems with your back you need to choose the type of mattress that is going to be of most help to you.
We are going to take a look at spring and foam mattresses, how they differ from each other and what you may want to think about when you are choosing the best mattress for your needs.

Why buy a spring mattress?

There is one very good reason why people tend to be attracted to buying spring mattresses; that is the relatively low purchase price. You can usually obtain a spring mattress for less money than you would pay for a memory foam mattress. The more innovative memory foam mattresses are more technically difficult to produce so they naturally cost more.
Some people also prefer spring mattresses because they do not have the tell-tale odour that memory foam can often produce. Spring mattresses can sometimes represent good value for money but they are not always the best choice if you suffer from back problems.

Why a memory foam mattress can be a good choice if you have a bad back?

If you suffer from chronic back pain you are probably going to want to sleep on a mattress that provides you with some support. You will usually find this support in a memory foam mattress. Memory foam technology uses the heat patterns from your body to enable the mattress to mould to your shape. As you can imagine, this means your body is fully supported, including all the pressure points in your back area.
While you are sleeping the mattress keeps your body protected and helps to relieve the aches and pains that you may otherwise suffer. The one major problem that some people mention, when it comes to memory foam, is that it can get very hot. If you are looking to buy a memory foam mattress then you need to find one that is manufactured to try and alleviate these issues with heat, if you think they are going to be a problem for you.

If you find the prices for memory foam mattresses are high, you may want to invest in a mattress topper or pad instead. You can take a look at reviews of mattress pads and toppers and find one that is best suited to your needs.
Pain from a chronic back problem is never pleasant, and it can be a real problem if it starts to cause you issues with sleeping. If you want to try and reduce these problems then you need to make sure that the bed you sleep on gives you the support you need. One of the best ways to do this is to invest in a memory foam mattress.

Sunday, June 5, 2016

Sports Apparel for Babies


In many families, there's usually a specific sports team everyone roots for. Whether it's a college team or a home town team, most families love to purchase the gear and root for their favorite teams together. While there are some families that feud about which team is best to root for, most families choose to be on the same page in terms of which team they'll be a fan of. Once you have a new member of the family, it's always nice to introduce them to the sports culture by getting them their own clothing gear to wear. Granted, they might be too little to know what's going, but when they get older, they'll appreciate the effort. We get so many compliments for the adorable sports outfits that our baby girl wears! 

1. Family Pictures

One of the best ways to capture the special moments in a family's history is through professional family portraits. Before the baby is born, it's important to book their first photos ahead of time. It's always nice to look back at pictures of them when they were little tiny infants. Nowadays, newborn photographers are extremely creative with the way they take photos of newborns. If you're from Alabama and proudly chant phrases like 'Roll Tide', along with an adorable University of Alabama onesie, you might want to ask the photographer to see if it's possible to include a football in the picture. You'd be surprised at how creative many newborn photographers have become over the years. 

2. Sports Games

If the baby is fresh out of the womb, it may not be time to allow them to go to one of the Florida State basketball games just yet. In due time, they'll be able to go. Once they're a few months old, you might consider taking them to a game to enjoy for an hour or so. While they're at the game, this is a great opportunity to let them start proudly rocking their Florida State onesie for team support. Make sure to take lots of pictures of them in uniform with the rest of the family. These types of memories are priceless. 

In addition to the fabulous onesies and jumpsuits, you can enjoy the matching shoes, hats, bibs and baby sleepers. If you have a little girl, she might want to wear the cute polo dresses or the cheerleader costumes. It's all interchangeable and the variety of options are very diverse. Just know that your precious little one will have many options to choose from in the babies NCAA infant apparel department. 

Now even though I am from Ohio, I am a HUGE Michigan fan and I fell head over heels in love with some of the adorable baby girl clothes I have found for her in sports apparel. Might need to stock up before football season!!! 

Wednesday, June 1, 2016

New Kids on the Block Rock This Boat is Back!




Growing up I was THE biggest fan of New Kids on the Block. My sisters and I had everything we could get our hands on that had anything to do with the group. My cousin Jenny was the envy of all of us because she had the entire NKOTB bedroom set, complete with curtains and bedding. I can still remember all of the words to my favorite songs, even the words from their Christmas album. I tell my own children all of the time that they have no idea what it was like growing up in the 90's and how amazing it was thanks to groups like NKOTB! They are such an awesome symbol of growing up in the 90's.



If you were a fan like me or even a new fan, you will be thrilled to know that Rock this Boat is back for a 2nd season! The season premier will kick off on Wednesday, June 1 at 8:30PM/7:30c on Pop TV! In case you missed Season 1, Rock this Boat follows New Kids on the Block members Donnie Wahlberg, Danny Wood, Joey McIntyre and Jordan and Jonathan Knight on their annual fan cruise.  The series will feature 8 episodes of backstage and personal moments shared by the NKOTB members and their fans. If you are a fan, you do NOT want to miss this series!



Check out a preview below! 




This post was sponsored by the Role Mommy Writer's Network.  All opinions are 100% my own.

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Must Visit Pizza Places in Seattle

Top 3 Pizza Restaurants in Seattle

Moving to Seattle can be one of the greatest decisions you’ll ever make. It’s a lively city, there’s always something to do, and the food has never been better. While many Seattle real estate agents can help give you the lowdown on all of the information you need to live a successful life there, the residents find a little solace in knowing where some of the best things in the city are located.

One of the most important things to know before moving to the city is where the best places to get a bite to eat, specifically pizza, are located:


1. Delancey
A popular pizza place in the city, Delancey uses burning wood to cook their pizzas, which may be one of the reasons that the taste is so great to the locals. Whether it's the mouthwatering ingredients, or the atmosphere of the dining room that seats 40, residents wait patiently for as long as it takes to get their pies.

2. Serious Pie
Opened in 2006, Serious Pie made its debut in downtown Seattle and has three venues in total for fans to sit down and dine. This particular establishment roasts their vegetables in an apple wood oven and is considered one of the best pizza places in the country. With a 3-day period of fermenting the dough for their crust, they have patrons returning regularly for more and more.

3. The Independent Pizzeria
Last but certainly not least, The Independent Pizzeria has been open since 2010 in Madison Park and gives its visitors a beautiful view of the water during each visit. The unique menu gives each guest a chance to try something new with every order, as well as the chance to enjoy their pizza picnic with a scenic view.

Knowing where some of the best pizza places are is a must for anyone who’s moving to a new city, so don’t forget to check these few out after settling down into your new Seattle home.

Thursday, April 7, 2016

Homeowner Issues: Plumbing

As a homeowner, plumbing issues are the absolute worst. A couple of months ago,  we had a blocked drain that ended up with sewage in our basement.  We called plumbers to come out right away.  They came out and used a snake to clear our line and everything was good....so we thought. That night we got a lot of rain and when we woke up, our basement was completely flooded. We lost almost everything we had down there including photos, furniture, clothing, etc. Turns out, when they put the snake down the drain, they didn't go out far enough and there was still a blockage. When it rained, the rain didn't have anywhere to go and it all backed up into our basement. Our basement was full of both rain and sewage. Gross! 

What causes a drain to block? If you have ever experienced a blocked drain in your home then you know what a problem it can be. It does not matter which drain is blocked; the issue needs to be dealt with as soon as possible. It may not be obvious what is causing the blockage in the drain, but there are some likely causes that commonly exist. One of the easiest ways of resolving a problem with a blocked drain is to look up plumbers in places like Sydney and choose one to take a look at the issue. Often the plumber will not know exactly what is blocking the drain but they will put their experience and expertise to use making sure the blockage is cleared for you. In our case, we had a variety of things courtesy of our children including a Ring Pop! 

What can be the causes of a blocked drain? 

Different situations cause different drains to block, so different causes exist depending on what type of drain is involved. If you are having a problem with a blockage in a drain in your kitchen then this is more than likely caused by a combination of grease and oil stuck to the inside of the drain and food particles which have become trapped as a result. Of course, the situation is different in the bathroom where most sink and shower drain blockages are caused by human debris such as hairs and dead skin. One of the worst problems you can have with a blocked drain is when your toilet blocks. This happens when something that will not dissolve easily is flushed. Often this can be something as simple as a child attempting to flush a pile of toilet paper. 

How can a drain be unblocked? 

The easiest option, when it comes to dealing with a blocked drain in your home, is to call a professional plumber to help. If you would rather try and solve the problem yourself first, here are some things you may want to try:

 •​If you have a blockage in a sink drain in your home then you should try pouring boiling water down it. You should only do this if your household piping is metallic. If your pipes are made from PVC then the water you use should be hot rather than boiling. Often, boiling water can remove smaller blockages; it can also help to soften those that are more stubborn.

 •​If you do not have any success pouring boiling water down the drain then it’s a good idea to use a plunger.

 •​For blockages which are further down the drain, a drain snake can be useful. This tool can help to dislodge those difficult to reach blockages.

 •​The most obvious way of clearing a blockage in a toilet is to use a plunger. The vast majority of the time this should release a simple blockage.

These are the most common causes of a blocked drain, together with some of the methods you can use to solve the problem. If you cannot solve the problem yourself, or you do not want to spend the time doing so, then it’s a good idea to just call a professional plumber to help you out.

Monday, February 29, 2016

Professional Carpet Cleaning At A Price You Can Afford

When it comes to getting your rugs and carpets cleaned at a price you can afford, there may not be many options for you to choose. You may live in an area where there are either too few carpet cleaning professionals available, or in a region where there are simply too many to keep track of. In such a case, it's comforting to know the name of a professional rug and carpet cleaner that you can trust to take the utmost care with your precious heirlooms and treasured possessions. 




From Ancient To Modern, A Professional Cleaning Service Can Handle It All

When you need to choose a professional cleaning service for your rugs and carpets, it's a smart move to choose one that shows an ability to handle all manner of shapes, sizes, and styles, from ancient to modern. A cleaning service that only specializes in one type or style of rug is fine for the specimens you currently own, but if you ever choose to diversify in the future, you're going to be hard pressed to find a cleaner that can handle the new models that you have introduced into your home. 

Why Settle For Less If You Can Afford The Best?

Pricing is also an obvious issue that needs to be fully addressed before you decide to give your service to a professional rug and carpet cleaner. Make sure there are no hidden fees or "detail oriented" charges before you sign on the dotted line. If the price that is quoted sounds good, your next step should be to check the exact number and nature of the services this company is prepared to offer you. After all, why settle for less if you can afford the best? 

It's Time To Get Your Carpet Cleaning Service Up To Speed  

If you feel that it's time to get your carpet cleaning service up to speed, Green Choice Carpet Cleaning of New Jersey is the place you can rely on for excellent service at a price that won't break your bank. No matter whether your carpet is a year old, a century old, or an antique Persian rug, Green Choice will handle your precious possession with the utmost respect and care. Persian area rug cleaning can be really expensive and sometimes difficult to find professionals in that industry as well so knowing your options is super important. Contact Green Choice at http://www.iicrc.org/hiring-persian-rug-cleaning-service-a-1.html to see for yourself exactly what the region's leading rug and carpet cleaning professionals can do for you.

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Hop Into Easter with Personalized Books from Put Me In The Story!


We are huge fans of personalized gifts and Put Me In the Story is at the top of our list every holiday. This Easter, if you are stumped on what to get the little one's in your life, look no further because Put Me In The Story has you covered with their awesome personalized Easter books! 


 Don’t Push the Button by Bill Cotter – New! $29.99 personalized book There’s only one rule in Larry’s book–don’t push the button. (Seriously, don’t even think about it!) Even if it does look kinda nice, you must never press the button. Who knows what would happen? Okay, quick. No one is looking... press the button. Uh, oh. Larry is a lovable monster, if a bit too curious for his own good. And now, you can join in on his fun adventure! In the personalized version of this interactive story, your child will discover all the surprises around that big red button. Read, play, and laugh along while your little one investigates just how BIG one little push can be! 

 An Easter Surprise $29.99 personalized book This Easter, take your little one on an “eggs-traordinary” egg-hiding adventure around the world! As fun and festive as an egg hunt, An Easter Surprise gives your child the chance to plan his or her very own Easter mission! Soaring as high as the moon in a hot air balloon, delivering eggs all over town, and stashing tasty treats all down the streets, your little one will be thrilled at the surprise twist in this Easter adventure! Make Easter morning extra magical! Personalize this exciting Easter storybook with your child’s name and hometown, along with a special message and photo on the dedication page. A sweet Easter surprise your little one will cherish long after the holiday is over! 

 I Love You Honey Bunny by Sandra Magsamen $29.99 personalized book The perfect Easter treat to add to your little “honey bunny’s” basket! I Love You Honey Bunny by Sandra Magsamen is a fun and heartfelt story to remind your little one just how much you love and cherish them. Cuddle up close and enjoy something sweet together! Celebrate your child by letting them know how they fill the world with love! Personalize this book with your honey bunny’s name, photo, and sweet message on the dedication page. You will also have the option to customize the pronoun in this book to become “I” or “We” Love You, Honey Bunny. A darling tale with a loving message that will stay with your little one forever! 

 Find more personalized gifts for Easter here: http://www.putmeinthestory.com/personalized-gift-occasions/easter 

 For Easter Delivery from Put Me In The Story

 Order USPS/Media Mail by March 9, 2016 
 Order UPS ground by March 14, 2016 
 Order 2nd Day Air by March 17, 2016 
Order Overnight Shipping by March 21, 2016 


 Enter the giveaway! 



Enter Put Me In The Story’s giveaway for a chance to win a personalized Easter Book Bundle! Giveaway ends 3/10/2016 at 11:59pm CST http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/54ca7af7284/ 


Sunday, February 21, 2016

All New Season of Survivor #BrainsBrawnBeauty

If you are Survivor fan's like us, you are probably super excited that the show has returned for a new season. Hopefully you caught the 90-minute premier on Wednesday but if not, we can fill you in on what you missed so you will be ready for next week! This season castaways will embark on the most grueling 39 days in Survivor history as they compete to see if brute strength, looks or smarts will bring them to the finish line as the Sole Survivor. 



Introducing this season's contestants!

The Brains Tribe:

Peter Baggenstos
Aubry Bracco
Joseph Del Campo
Neal Gottlieb 
Elisabeth Markham
Debbie Wanner 

The Brawn Tribe:

Cydney Gillon
Darnell Hamilton
Alecia Holden
Kyle Jason
Jennifer Lanzetti
Scot Pollard 

The Beauty Tribe:

Michele Fitzgerald 
Anna Khait 
Nick Maiorano
Caleb Reynolds
Julia Sokolowski
Tai Trang 

The show kicked off with the castaway's receiving 2 minutes to take anything and everything they could off of the boat. Players jumped to get everything they could including food, live animals (including a chicken that Caleb from the Beauty Tribe jumped off of the boat to retrieve from the water!) 

The first episode was super exciting and of course we came out with a team that we are rooting for. We knew right away that we were not into the beauty tribe, although we find Tai to be super interesting. We found positives with the Brain Tribe but in the end, we decided that we are rooting for the Brawn Tribe although we are SUPER ticked about them sending Darnell home. We did not like Alecia and didn't think she carried her weight at all throughout the entire episode. Darnell might have lost his goggles in the challenge but he pulled his weight through the rest of the 1st episode. I hope it doesn't come back to bite them in subsequent episodes. 

So, we might change our mind but after the first episode, we definitely like the Brawn Tribe!

Who are you rooting for after week 1?



Room Makeover Featuring Mohawk #ilovemymohawkrug

BEFORE 
My husband and I are somewhat obsessed with projects in our home, especially when we can make small changes that make a big difference. We are getting ready to put our home on the market and relocate to a different part of Ohio so we have been tackling little projects to increase the value of our home and one room that we decided to update was our den. It had old almost maroon colored carpet and the walls were painted red. The trim was in rough shape and the registers for the heat/air were terribly outdated. We set a budget of $1,000 to completely refinish the room and we are so excited with how it turned out. 

First we pulled up the ugly carpet and laid engineered wood flooring in it's place. We used paint and primer to take the red on the walls to a neutral gray color. We also purchased new vents and painted all of the trim a fresh coat of white paint. Some of the trim was looking pretty bad so we replaced those pieces. 

COMING ALONG! 

It's really amazing what you can actually do on your own. I am extremely fortunate that my husband is so handy because he saved us thousands of dollars that would be been spent on labor so we had funds to do other things like update the lighting. We took the blinds down and added new curtains and created a nice seating area that the family could enjoy but the big WOW that totally changed the room was the awesome rug that was sent to us by Mohawk. I love all of their flooring options but I have been a huge fan of their area rugs for a really long time (we have Mohawk rugs in almost every room of our home) so we were so excited about getting this rug for our new room. This rug is the Mohawk Home Strata Jerada Printed Rug and it's simply spectacular. It's such a high quality rug which is super important as this is a heavy traffic area in our home and the print adds color to the room and creates a warmer overall feel to the room. We absolutely love the finished product and so do our little's as you can see below. 

Finished! 
This project took about a week to complete but we are just absolutely in love with it. It turned out so good and I can't wait to tackle our next project which will be the kitchen/dining room. We will definitely be looking for another Mohawk rug to finish that room as well. They have so many prints for just about any style and the quality can't be beat. Maybe that's because they are still made in  USA


Be sure and leave us a comment below and let us know what you think. Do you like the new look?

GIVEAWAY

One lucky person is going to win their own Mohawk Rug (Up to a 5x7, $150 value) 





*Review and Giveaway were provided to us at no cost. All opinions belong to the owner's of this site* 

Monday, January 11, 2016

New Year's Ruff-olutions with Milk-Bone

It's a new year and chances are, you probably made some kind of goal or resolution for yourself or your family but sometimes we forget about our furry friends. I am sure that most of us could probably think of one or more goals for our pets for the new year whether it be keeping up better with vet visits or simply keeping your pet more active. Below you will find a great list of ideas from a Milk-Bone survey of over 3,000 Americans. There is no reason to keep our four-legged friends out of our healthy resolutions for the new year. 


Our Ruff-olution this year is to give our doggies healthier treats and we can do that with the help of great Milk-Bone products like Good Morning Daily Vitamin Treats and Milk-Bone Brushing Chews! The brushing chews are our favorite because let's face it. Brushing your pups teeth is not the easiest task in the world. With the Milk-Bone Brushing Chews, your dog can enjoy a treat that actually cleans his teeth. They come in Mini, Small/Medium and Large so your dog can enjoy the treats no matter what size he/she is.
The Good Morning Daily Vitamin Treats are also a big hit around here. These treats are great for the overall health of your dog as they contain nutrients that most dog foods don't have. What a great way to start the morning. When you take your daily vitamins, why not give a great start to your pups day as well?



Remember that the health and wellness of your pet is super important so pick a goal and stick with it this new year. Together your entire family can be healthier and happier! 






Saturday, January 9, 2016

How to be a Good Host

The holiday season is in full swing and most people have already attended or hosted multiple parties and get togethers over the past couple of months. Recently, I was involved in an online discussion about proper etiquette when attending get togethers in other people's homes and I thought it was a great discussion because it is something that most of us have dealt with at one time or another. The question is, is it ok to ask people to do or not do things to accommodate you in their home? If you think it's rude, you are not alone. In several recent polls, most people agreed that you shouldn't expect people to do things differently in their home to make you feel more comfortable. In my opinion, however, when you open your home for visitors, those visitors are YOUR guests and you should go out of your way to make sure they are comfortable in your home. Subsequently, we put together a guide on how YOU can be the perfect host. 



Smoking. If you normally smoke in your home, consider going outside or in a designated room if you are hosting visitors, especially children. I cannot stress this enough as it is one of my biggest pet peeves. As a Mom of 5 children, if you invite me over to your home and you light up around my kids, you might as well look me in the eye and tell me that you never want me to visit again. If you cannot respect the health of myself and my children enough to go outside to smoke while we are there, you obviously do not desire our company. Many children suffer from allergies and asthma and could face severe health consequences from even a single day in a smoke filled home. Recently our 5 year old faced a scary bout of pneumonia. He ended up in the hospital for 2 days after battling a severe
respiratory illness for almost 2 weeks. When we were discharged from the hospital, the doctor made it clear to us that we needed to keep him clear of crowds and especially things like smoking. Knowing we had a family holiday party coming up, I requested that there be no smoking in the home so that we could still attend. I did not feel that this was rude in any way, shape or form. Unfortunately, there were several adults who continued to smoke during the party so I spent my night running my children out of the rooms where people were smoking.  This was really a bummer for me to have the realization that the health of my children was not respected and family or not, we will limit future visits as long as smoking inside the home continues. I will not compromise the health of my children for anything in this world and I should not be expected to. If you are the visitor and not the host, never be afraid or ashamed to speak up about smoking around your family if it makes you uncomfortable. 

Pets. Let's face it. Just because you are a fan of your furry friends doesn't mean that everyone is. Some people have allergies to certain animals while other's
might have phobias. If you are inviting someone into your home, hopefully you know enough about them to know if they have issues that would make them uncomfortable around your pets. If so, consider these things while your guests are visiting. If you have an animal that is hyper and likes to jump, consider putting them somewhere away from guests, especially elderly and small children who could easily be knocked down. When my sister and brother-in-law had a very large bull mastiff dog, I was not shy about asking them to put him away when the kids and I visited. He was a big teddy bear that my kids loved but he slobbered everywhere and if he came anywhere near you, you would leave slimed. My sister was never bothered to take her dog to another room so we could visit and it was much appreciated and made us visit much more knowing we wouldn't have the dog to worry about. If you are a host who has animals, keep your visitors in mind before you decide to host. Not everyone will appreciate slobbery kisses and being climbed over. 

Food. Prior to inviting your guests for a visit, ask them about health and diet restrictions. The last thing you want to do is invite guests for dinner, prepare a huge meal and then your guests are unable to eat anything you have prepared because of dietary concerns. Are they vegetarian? Gluten free? Diabetic? If you come to my house for a party, you don't leave hungry and I make sure of that. Over Thanksgiving, we baked both a turkey and a ham because my siste
r doesn't like turkey. It is my goal to make sure we always have something that everyone will eat. I go over the menu with my mom and my sisters prior to family parties that I host to make sure we have everything covered and to make sure everyone can eat. My Dad is diabetic so its important to me to make sure I have foods for him to eat that will not make him sick. Anyone hosting parties should be mindful of these things. At a recent family party, our very picky son had nothing to eat but dinner rolls and I felt awful that he was hungry and there was nothing he could eat. I would never want a guest to go hungry in my home so I always ask ahead of time before planning my menu. Obviously if you are hosting a lot of people you can't accommodate everyone but if your guest list includes children, try to make some little people friendly foods too.

Bottom line? If you are hosting guests, you are inviting them into your home and it's your job to make them feel comfortable. If you are the guest, don't feel shy about asking questions ahead of time. When it comes to my family, I am not hesitant at all to tell my parents and siblings how I feel if they are doing something that makes me feel uncomfortable. If it's something with my in-law's, I will usually ask my husband to speak up. If it were my husband's bosses house I would probably not say anything and just not return in the future.

What did our readers and friends have to say?

Megan W. says "I think it's important to say before you go to the house if there's something you can't be around or that you might need. That way they can make the call about whether or not they feel comfortable accommodating your request and if not you can avoid going there. It might be an uncomfortable conversation but it would be worse if you waited until you got there!

Madison A. says "I feel like if it's their home you know what you are getting into by going to their house. I would never make someone feel uncomfortable in their home.....if it's that big of a problem, don't go there and have them come to your house so you can tell them what to do.

Stephanie A. says "That depends. My great grandmother used to smoke in her house so we (the grandchildren and great grandchildren) stopped taking the children there. When she asked why we asked her to stop smoking in the house and we would bring the kids over again. I'm not putting my children in danger so you can see them.

Heather D. says "My kiddo has asthma and one of his triggers is smoke. I mention that and if the person insists on smoking in the house (which is absolutely their right) I simply thank them for the visit and explain that we have to leave. It's not worth another ER trip but I respect their home. Usually they just come to us or smoke near an exhaust fan or something. I can see both sides. If someone is your friend/family, they should understand if it's for legitimate reasons and not an annoyance.

Deborah T. says "My house. I pay the bills, my rules. If you don't like it, don't visit. When I am at your house, I follow your rules.

Danielle P. says "I think it's rude for you to ask them...however, I think it's rude for them not to consider others.

Melissa M. says "I think it depends on the way a person asks. We smoke but do not if there are young children or if we know it causes problems for someone. I would not be offended if someone asked me not to smoke depending on how they asked. We always put our dog up because he can be hyper at first. I think you should respect people when they visit. They are your guests.

Jacci P. says "Approach and presentation are the keys. Rude or not rude. We do not smoke so I can relate to going to a smoker's house. However, my first gesture would be to open my home to avoid it as it still lingers and my eyes are sensitive. However, I don't think it's rude to ask and explain your family is not accustom. If they are true friends, they will understand.

Barb V. says "We don't smoke and don't where there is smoking so we would simply not go to that home. Sorry but true. The pet lives there, we don't. It's their home and their choices so we must make our own choices. You can always enjoy your friends' company in places other than the home.

Wilma K. says "I totally agree with you that if you have guests you should go out of your way to make them feel comfortable but I think it is rude to go into another person's home and expect them to change their life to make you comfortable.

Thanks to everyone who took the time to answer on Facebook and Twitter!

So what do you think? Is it rude or acceptable to make requests when visiting someone else's home?